Skip to main content

Important information about COVID-19

Our role as a health care leader in our communities is always our number one priority. We understand the importance of our ability to serve you during this global health event.

Through this crisis, we are continuing to service the needs of our members. Any claims you submit, for all types of coverage, will be addressed as quickly as possible. Also, please note our Quick Pay locations are currently closed until further notice due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We do not have a re-open date for our other locations currently, however, drop boxes for member claims are available at our Moncton, NB, Dartmouth, NS and St. John's locations. You can find information about how to access our services in our online Member Centre.

As we are experiencing higher than normal call volumes, to better support you, we encourage you to take advantage of our digital tools and get full value from your plan.

We want to make sure that you are protecting your health, and you understand how we can help you if you are impacted by this outbreak. Please check this site often for ongoing updates.

Information on Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)

The pandemic has adjusted the way that businesses operate globally. Many new guidelines have been introduced to protect the health and well being of our communities, including the use of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), distancing measures and increased sanitization. As health and dental practices re-opened during the recovery phase of the pandemic, we understand that some providers have started charging their patients for the cost of PPE and additional cleaning time.

Medavie Blue Cross also has an obligation to administer our benefit plans according to the benefit contracts we hold with our clients, which do not typically include coverage for charges related to PPE or the additional time required for cleaning of equipment. This means that you may have additional out of pocket expenses when accessing services from a health care practitioner or at a dental clinic during the COVID-19 pandemic. Consequently, we strongly encourage you to discuss any extra charges that you may incur at your health and dental care provider, prior to your visit.

While not eligible under standard health and dental plans, PPE surcharges from health and dental care professionals are covered under both Health Spending Account (HSA) and Personal Spending Account (PSA) plans.


Mental Health Services and Support

We know that COVID-19 is taking a toll on the physical and mental wellbeing of many Canadians.

If you or someone you know is experiencing stress or anxiety, and is struggling to cope, please know that expert help is just a call or click away.

Learn more


Travel Coverage

We are currently experiencing higher than normal travel related claims.
Rest assured we are working through them as quickly as possible.
Thank you for your patience and understanding.

On March 13, 2020, the Government of Canada announced a global travel advisory covering all international travel.

This warning remains in place and we continue to view this as the essential point of reference with respect to travel safety. However, as countries re-open their borders, we recognize that some plan members may still consider travel outside the country. These members are looking to their travel coverage to provide protection and peace of mind, and we feel strongly it should be there for them during the pandemic.

Consequently, all standard Medavie Blue Cross travel plans will now cover eligible emergency hospital and medical expenses related to COVID-19, subject to existing maximums and all other terms, conditions and limitations of your policy.

To qualify for coverage, before departure you must:

  • Be symptom free
  • Have not tested positive (or be awaiting a test result), and
  • Have not been in contact with anyone who tested positive in the last 14 days.

This change in COVID-19 coverage is effective September 1, 2020 through July 15, 2021.

If you do opt to travel internationally during this period, we recommend you carefully review the guidance available at travel.gc.ca around international travel and requirements around returning to Canada, and to regularly check the site for any new or updated information.

Please note: For plans with trip cancellation insurance, since COVID-19 is considered a known situation, cancelling or interrupting a trip for a reason related to the pandemic remains not covered.


Trip Cancellation

As is noted above, for plans with trip cancellation insurance, since COVID-19 is considered a known situation, cancelling or interrupting a trip for a reason related to the pandemic remains not covered.

We are accepting trip cancellation claims for any trips that were:

  • booked on or before March 15 (March 9 for cruise ship travel) and
  • are scheduled to depart within the next 14 days from the current day.

Please note that you must first contact your airline or travel provider and enquire about a refund, travel credit or if you can rebook your travel for a later date.

If they do not provide you with a refund or travel credit ask for proof that they are not providing you that refund. If they provide you with a partial refund, ask for proof that they provided you with the partial refund or credit.

If you do not receive a full refund or credit for your trip from your travel provider, please check your trip cancellation coverage and submit any eligible claims to Medavie Blue Cross.

If you have travel booked for more than 14 days beyond the current date, please refer back to this site as it is frequently updated with current information.

Trips booked after March 16 to any destination outside Canada are not eligible for Trip Cancellation coverage until the Government of Canada advisory is removed.

As there is currently no Government of Canada advisory concerning travel within Canada, Trip Cancellation coverage does not apply to inter-provincial travel. Most travel providers are providing refunds or credits for booked travel or events.

Get trip cancellation form


Claiming for virtual services

Did you know that you can get a lot of health services online or by phone? It’s a convenient option for getting the care you need during this challenging time.

Right now, covered services can be provided by:

Audiologists
Chiropodists
Chiropractors
Counselling Therapists
Registered Dietitians
Naturopaths
Occupational Therapists
Optometrists
Physiotherapists
Podiatrists
Psychoeducators
Psychologists
Psychotherapists
Social Workers
Speech Therapists

You can submit like any other claim: either directly by the provider through ePay, or by sending us your receipt through the Medavie Mobile app or by logging in at medaviebc.ca. As always, all claims are subject to the coverage provided by your plan and our reasonable and customary limits.

Ask your health provider if they can provide their specific care remotely, and take care of your health even when you can’t meet in-person.

And don’t forget that you can also access Online Doctors at special preferred pricing, and Digital Therapy (covered by most plans), through our Connected Care platform.


Medication access during COVID-19 pandemic

We are closely monitoring the effects of COVID-19 on the demand for prescription drugs. We are working closely with pharmacy partners to ensure our members have access to the medications they need, when they need them.

Following official direction

During the first several weeks of the pandemic, provincial pharmacy regulators across Canada issued directives to pharmacists to limit the supply of prescription medications to 30 days per fill, in an effort to help protect Canada’s drug supply during these uncertain times.

When this occurred, we collaborated with governments, pharmacy regulators, and others in the industry to ensure the best approaches are applied to help ensure adequate supplies of various drugs, while also minimizing financial strain on members. This included focusing on only those drugs that have actual supply issues, and returning to a 90 day supply as soon as possible.

These 30 day prescription drug limits have now been lifted for most medications. If a member encounters a situation where they are still dispensed a limited supply of their regular maintenance medication, they have the option of asking their pharmacist to consider an exception and dispense a larger quantity.

Protecting everyones health

In order to help keep pharmacists and their staff healthy, you are asked not to go to any pharmacy if you are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 (fever, new onset of cough or difficulty breathing), in the 14 days after the onset of symptoms or if you think you have been exposed to the virus.

As always, members should ensure their refills are up to date, not waiting to the last minute or until their prescription runs out before reordering.

To help minimize your social interactions, you can also consider receiving your prescriptions through home delivery service. Talk to your pharmacist about your options.

Renewal of Prior Authorization drugs

We understand that for members currently on a drug requiring prior authorization, it may be difficult to obtain the required renewal information, such as updated tests or exams. If you have a prior authorization set to renew, but your appointment is after your current authorization has expired, please have your Patient Support Program (PSP) Case Worker reach out to our Special Authorization Unit directly, or call our Customer Contact Centre who can provide you with next steps direction.

Home Delivery of Prescription Drugs

In this era of online purchases and home delivery, more plan members than ever are looking for options to have the medications they take on a regular basis (“maintenance drugs”) delivered directly to them by a home delivery pharmacy.

My Home Rx provides convenient options for free home delivery of your prescription maintenance drugs that can help you save money, with the comfort and assurance of avoiding unnecessary trips outside the home.


Disability Coverage

If your benefits plan includes our disability coverage, this is in place to support you if you are unable to work because of illness or injury – and that applies to COVID-19 related illness. Here are some common situations:

Positive COVID-19 test, and unable to work from home because of illness or your type of work: Qualify for Short Term Disability once the waiting period is satisfied. Attending Physician Statement form and/or positive COVID-19 test report must be submitted.

No COVID-19 test but too ill to work due to flu-like symptoms: Submit the standard Disability application forms, reflecting your condition and inability to work. Standard waiting period applies.

Unable to work because you have been placed under quarantine, but not too ill to work otherwise: You may qualify for Employment Insurance (EI) benefits. You can find out more about qualifying for EI here. You will not qualify for Short Term Disability coverage.

For all Disability applications, the standard Employee and Employer Statement forms are still required.

Disability coverage varies by plan and it is best to confirm your specific disability coverage with your employer. Sick and vacation policies vary by employer and are not part of your health and disability benefits plan.

Disability application forms can be found here.


Digital Tools

We understand your health is important, especially during times like these. Using our digital tools, we can better meet your needs. Let’s work together to support each other. Click here.


Health Resources

You can find out more about the coronavirus and related Government of Canada advisories at canada.ca

The chat icon at the bottom right of this screen links to a COVID-19 screening tool, which helps you assess your current condition and recommends potential next steps to protect your health.

Passer au contenu principal

Renseignements importants sur le COVID-19

Notre rôle de chef de file du domaine des soins de santé au sein de nos collectivités est toujours notre principale priorité. Nous comprenons l’importance d’être en mesure de vous servir pendant cette période de crise sanitaire mondiale.

En ces temps éprouvants, nous continuons de répondre aux besoins de nos adhérents. Les demandes de règlement que vous soumettez, pour tout type de couverture, sont traitées le plus rapidement possible. Aussi, nos bureaux Paiement express/Quick Pay sont fermés jusqu’à nouvel ordre en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19. À l'heure actuelle, nous n'avons pas de date de réouverture pour les autres emplacements, mais des boîtes prévues pour déposer les demandes de règlement sont disponibles à nos bureaux de Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick), de Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse) et de St. John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador). Vous pouvez trouver de l’information en ligne sur la façon d’accéder à nos services sur notre Centre de l’adhérent.

Puisque nous recevons actuellement un nombre exceptionnellement élevé d’appels, nous vous demandons de tirer parti de nos outils numériques afin de bénéficier de la pleine valeur de votre régime et de nous aider à mieux vous soutenir. Cliquez ici pour en apprendre plus sur ces outils.

Nous voulons nous assurer que vous preniez tous les moyens pour protéger votre santé et que vous sachiez comment nous pouvons vous aider si vous subissez les répercussions de cette pandémie. Consultez régulièrement ce site pour être au courant des dernières nouvelles.

Renseignements sur l'équipement de protection individuelle (EPI)

La pandémie a modifié le mode de fonctionnement des entreprises dans le monde entier. Beaucoup de nouvelles directives ont été adoptées pour protéger la santé et le bien-être de nos collectivités, notamment quant à l'utilisation d'équipement de protection individuelle (EPI), aux mesures de distanciation et au renforcement de la désinfection. Avec la réouverture des cliniques médicales et dentaires pendant la phase de reprise de la pandémie, nous savons que certains professionnels ont commencé à facturer à leurs patients le coût de l'EPI et du temps de nettoyage supplémentaire.

Croix Bleue Medavie a également l'obligation d'administrer ses régimes d'assurance conformément aux contrats qu'elle a conclus avec ses clients, qui ne comprennent généralement pas la couverture des frais liés à l'EPI ou au temps supplémentaire nécessaire pour le nettoyage de l'équipement. Cela signifie que vous pourriez avoir des frais supplémentaires à payer pour obtenir des services auprès d'un professionnel des soins de santé ou des soins dentaires pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons vivement à discuter des frais supplémentaires que vous pourriez encourir chez votre professionnel des soins de santé et de soins dentaires, avant votre visite.

Bien qu’ils ne soient pas admissibles en vertu des régimes standards de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les frais supplémentaires pour l’EPI facturés par les professionnels des soins de santé et des soins dentaires sont couverts en vertu du compte Gestion-santé (CGS) et du compte Gestion mieux-être (CGM).


Services et soutien en santé mentale

Nous sommes conscients que la pandémie de COVID-19 a des répercussions sur la santé physique et mentale et sur le bien-être de nombreux Canadiens.

Si vous ou un membre de votre entourage souffrez de stress ou d’anxiété ou avez de la difficulté à composer avec la situation, sachez que vous pouvez obtenir de l’aide d’un spécialiste en un appel ou en quelques clics.

En savoir plus


Assurance voyage

Nous recevons actuellement un nombre de demandes de règlement pour assurance voyage plus élevé que la normale.
Soyez assurés que nous les traitons le plus rapidement possible. Nous vous remercions de votre patience et de votre compréhension.

Le 13 mars 2020, le gouvernement du Canada a émis un avertissement global aux voyageurs touchant tous les voyages internationaux.

Cet avertissement est toujours en vigueur et nous continuons de le considérer comme le point de référence essentiel en matière de sécurité des déplacements. Nous sommes toutefois conscients qu’alors que les pays rouvrent leurs frontières, certains adhérents pourraient considérer l’idée de voyager à l’extérieur du Canada. Ces adhérents souhaitent que leur couverture d’assurance voyage leur offre protection et tranquillité d’esprit et nous sommes d’avis qu’elle devrait leur procurer tout cela durant la pandémie.

Par conséquent, tous les régimes standard d’assurance voyage de Croix Bleue Medavie couvriront maintenant les dépenses hospitalières et médicales d’urgence liées à la COVID-19, selon les maximums existants et conformément aux modalités, conditions et restrictions de votre police.

Pour être admissible à la couverture, vous devez, avant le départ :

  • ne présenter aucun symptôme;
  • ne pas avoir obtenu un résultat positif (ou être en attente d’un résultat) à la suite d’un test de dépistage de la COVID-19;
  • ne pas avoir été en contact avec une personne ayant obtenu un résultat positif au test de dépistage de la COVID-19 dans les 14 jours précédant le départ.

Ce changement de la couverture de la COVID-19 est entré en vigueur le 1er septembre 2020 et prendra fin le 15 juillet 2021.

Si vous choisissez de voyager à l’international pendant la période susmentionnée, nous vous recommandons de prendre connaissance des renseignements en matière de voyage à l’extérieur du Canada et des exigences entourant le retour au pays mentionnés au voyage.gc.ca et de consulter ce site régulièrement pour être au courant de toute mise à jour.

Veuillez noter que dans le cadre des régimes qui comprennent une assurance annulation de voyage, l’annulation ou l’interruption d’un voyage pour une raison liée à la pandémie demeurent non couvertes puisque la COVID-19 est considérée comme une situation connue.


Annulation de voyage

Comme il est indiqué ci-dessus, dans le cadre des régimes qui comprennent une assurance annulation de voyage, l’annulation ou l’interruption d’un voyage pour une raison liée à la pandémie demeurent non couvertes puisque la COVID-19 est considérée comme une situation connue.

Nous acceptons les demandes de règlement d’annulation de voyage pour les voyages :

  • qui ont été réservés le 15 mars 2020 ou avant (le 9 mars 2020 pour les voyages en croisière);
  • dont le départ est prévu dans les 14 jours suivant la date actuelle.

Veuillez noter que vous devez d’abord contacter votre compagnie aérienne ou votre fournisseur de voyages afin de savoir si vous pouvez obtenir un remboursement ou un crédit de voyage, ou si vous pouvez reporter votre voyage à une date ultérieure.

S’ils ne vous accordent pas de remboursement ou de crédit de voyage, demandez une preuve qu’ils ne vous accordent pas ce remboursement. S’ils vous accordent qu’un remboursement partiel, demandez une preuve qu’ils vous ont accordé un remboursement ou un crédit partiel.

Si vous n’obtenez pas le remboursement complet ou un crédit de votre fournisseur pour votre voyage, veuillez vérifier votre couverture d’annulation de voyage et soumettre les demandes de règlement admissibles à Croix Bleue Medavie.

Si vous avez un voyage réservé dans plus de 14 jours à partir de la date actuelle, revenez consulter ce site régulièrement puisque de nouveaux renseignements y sont ajoutés régulièrement.

Les voyages réservés après le 16 mars 2020 vers toute destination à l’extérieur du Canada ne sont pas admissibles à la couverture d’annulation de voyage jusqu’à ce que l’avertissement du gouvernement du Canada soit levé.

Puisqu’à l’heure actuelle les déplacements à l’intérieur du Canada ne font l’objet d’aucun avis du gouvernement du Canada, la couverture d’annulation de voyage ne s’applique pas aux voyages interprovinciaux. La majorité des fournisseurs de voyage offre des remboursements ou des crédits pour les voyages ou les événements réservés.

Obtenir un formulaire de demande de règlement pour annulation de voyage


Faire une demande de règlement pour des services à distance

Saviez-vous que de nombreux services de santé sont offerts en ligne ou par téléphone? L’accès à distance est une option pratique pour obtenir les soins dont vous avez besoin pendant la période difficile que nous traversons.

À l’heure actuelle, les services couverts peuvent être fournis à distance par les professionnels suivants :

Audiologistes
Chiropraticiens
Conseillers-thérapeutes
Diététistes autorisés
Ergothérapeutes
Naturopathes
Optométristes
Orthophonistes
Physiothérapeutes
Podiatres
Podologues
Psychoéducateurs
Psychologues
Psychothérapeutes
Travailleurs sociaux

Les demandes de règlement peuvent être soumises comme à l’habitude, soit directement par le fournisseur au moyen d’électroPaie, ou en nous envoyant votre reçu à l’aide de l’application Medavie Mobile ou du site Web cbmedavie.ca. Comme toujours, toutes les demandes de règlement sont traitées en fonction de la couverture de votre régime et de nos limites de frais usuels et raisonnables.

Demandez à votre professionnel de la santé s’il est en mesure de fournir ses services à distance et de prendre soin de votre santé même si vous ne pouvez pas vous rencontrer en personne.

De plus, n’oubliez pas que vous avez également accès au service Médecin en ligne à un prix préférentiel, ainsi qu’à des services de thérapie en ligne (couverts par la plupart des régimes), par l’entremise de notre plateforme Connexion santé.


Assurance médicaments

Nous surveillons étroitement les répercussions de la COVID-19 sur la demande en médicaments sur ordonnance. Nous collaborons étroitement avec nos pharmacies partenaires pour nous assurer que les adhérents ont accès aux médicaments dont ils ont besoin au moment opportun.

Respecter les directives officielles

Pendant les premières semaines de la pandémie, les organismes de réglementation de la pharmacie à l’échelle du Canada ont émis la directive aux pharmaciens de limiter la provision des médicaments sur ordonnance à 30 jours par exécution, dans le but de protéger l’approvisionnement en médicaments au pays pendant la période d’incertitude.

Nous avons alors collaboré avec les gouvernements, les organismes de réglementation de la pharmacie et d’autres membres de l’industrie pour définir les meilleures approches à appliquer pour assurer un approvisionnement adéquat en divers médicaments, tout en réduisant le plus possible la pression financière sur les adhérents. Nous souhaitions que la limite de 90 jours soit réinstaurée le plus rapidement possible et nous défendions l’opinion selon laquelle seuls les médicaments touchés par un réel problème d’approvisionnement devraient faire l’objet des mesures de limitation de provision.

La limite de 30 jours imposée pour les médicaments sur ordonnance a maintenant été levée pour la plupart des médicaments. Dans l’éventualité où un adhérent se voit fournir une provision limitée de ces médicaments d’entretien habituels, il peut demander à son pharmacien d’accorder une exception et de fournir une plus grande quantité.

Protéger la santé de tous

Afin de protéger la santé des pharmaciens et de leur personnel, vous ne devez pas vous rendre dans une pharmacie si vous présentez des symptômes de la COVID-19 (fièvre, nouvelle toux ou difficultés respiratoires), dans les 14 jours suivant l’apparition de vos symptômes ou si vous pensez avoir été exposé au virus.

Comme toujours, les adhérents doivent s’assurer que leurs renouvellements sont à jour et éviter d’attendre à la dernière minute ou l’échéance de leurs ordonnances pour demander un renouvellement.

Pour réduire votre nombre d’interactions sociales, vous pourriez considérer de faire livrer vos médicaments à la maison. Demandez à votre pharmacien quelles options s’offrent à vous.

Renouvellement des autorisations préalables

Le remboursement de certains médicaments, habituellement des médicaments spécialisés onéreux, nécessite une autorisation préalable.

Nous sommes conscients qu’il peut être difficile pour les adhérents qui utilisent actuellement des médicaments nécessitant une autorisation préalable d’obtenir les renseignements demandés dans le cadre du renouvellement, comme des résultats d’analyses ou d’examens à jour.

Si vous détenez une autorisation préalable dont le renouvellement est prévu entre le 1er mars et le 31 mai 2020, nous avons prolongé votre période de renouvellement de 90 jours à partir de votre date de renouvellement actuelle ou jusqu’au 31 juillet 2020, selon la première éventualité.

Certains médicaments, comme les médicaments contre l’hépatite C, sont exclus de cette prolongation.

La prolongation s’applique seulement aux renouvellements d’autorisation préalable. Toutes les nouvelles demandes d’autorisation préalable continueront d’être traitées selon les pratiques actuelles.

Mes médicaments à la maison : livraison à domicile de médicaments sur ordonnance

À l’heure où les achats en ligne et la livraison à domicile sont plus populaires que jamais, les adhérents sont nombreux à rechercher des options leur permettant de recevoir directement à la maison les médicaments qu’ils prennent sur une base régulière (médicaments d’entretien).

Mes médicaments à la maison offre des options pratiques de livraison gratuite à domicile des médicaments d’entretien sur ordonnance qui peuvent vous aider à économiser, en plus de vous éviter les sorties non nécessaires à l’extérieur de la maison, pour plus de commodité et de tranquillité d’esprit.


Assurance invalidité

Si votre régime d’assurance comprend notre assurance invalidité, l’objectif de cette dernière est de vous soutenir si vous êtes incapable de travailler en raison d’une maladie ou d’une blessure, y compris une maladie à coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19). Voici certaines situations possibles :

Votre test de dépistage de la COVID-19 est positif et vous n’êtes pas en mesure de travailler de la maison à cause de votre maladie ou de la nature de votre emploi : Vous êtes admissible à l’assurance invalidité de courte durée avec exemption du délai d’admission. Cliquez ici pour obtenir le formulaire de confirmation de maladie à coronavirus 2019(COVID-19).

Vous n’avez pas subi de test de dépistage de la COVID-19, mais vous êtes incapable de travailler en raison de symptômes s’apparentant à ceux de la grippe : Soumettez un formulaire de confirmation de maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19) et décrivez votre incapacité à travailler. Le délai d’admission normal s’applique.

Vous n’êtes pas en mesure de travailler, car vous devez respecter une quarantaine, mais autrement vous ne seriez pas assez malade pour ne pas travailler : Vous pourriez être admissible à des prestations d’assurance-emploi sans délai d’admission. Vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur l’admissibilité à l’assurance emploi ici. Vous ne serez pas admissible à l’assurance invalidité de courte durée.

L’assurance invalidité varie selon le régime et nous vous conseillons de consulter votre employeur pour connaître les particularités de votre couverture. Les politiques de congés de maladie et de vacances varient d’un employeur à l’autre et ne font pas partie de votre régime de soins de santé et d’assurance invalidité.

Cliquez ici pour obtenir le formulaire de confirmation de maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19).


Outils numériques

Nous savons que votre santé est importante, surtout dans des moments comme ceux-ci. Grâce à nos outils numériques, nous pouvons mieux répondre à vos besoins. Travaillons ensemble pour nous épauler les uns les autres. Cliquez ici.


Conseils santé

Vous pouvez trouver de plus amples renseignements sur le coronavirus et les avertissements du gouvernement du Canada qui y sont liés à l’adresse canada.ca.


L’icône de clavardage dans le coin inférieur droit de cette page renvoie à un outil d’évaluation pour la COVID-19 qui peut vous aider à évaluer votre état actuel et vous recommander les prochaines étapes possibles pour préserver votre santé.